Common Ground. Architecture Biennale 2012

I’ve left to Venice once again, to visit the Architecture Biennale 2012, and hoping to get on time for Music Biennale as well. It was very exciting and challenging the common ground showed to the public, with lots of inspiring design, geographical and technological works.

 

At Arsenale. Every room was a total surprise. “GATEWAY” showed an interactive pavement with hundreds of white writings while on the wall everybody could admire images of our modern World. I kept going becoming part of geometric movies, sense architecture changing under my feet, and finding lots of interesting maps of dream and compromise.

Our cities have changed so much that photographs show “unconscious places” all around the planet, like it was a unique, global city. It seems notions like “identity” and “genius loci” are fading away and architects are trying to find the proper answer to this phenomenon. Thailand was very interesting as well as Taiwan (at the Prigioni’s Palace).

But still this Earth hosts Nature, like at the Italian Pavillon, that hosted so many plants and green documentaries. I particularly enjoyed the “playing garden”, sounding as the visitor approached.

 

At Giardini. The only real surprise here was Russian Pavillon. Over the top, completely on I-Pad to show the exhibit. Loved it. All the other pavillons were focusing on the importance of being careful about recycling, sustainability and so on.

 

An important Biennale. If you want to be there, the exhibit remains open until 25 November in the beautiful city of the doges. More pic at @geojardin

 

About the Biennale click here.

 

 

About Odile Milton

I travel through words whenever possible. Odile Milton is my signature on the web as I wanted an alter ego to indicate only my writings and works, not my personal life. Odile like the dancer in black swan, and Milton from the novel An old-fashioned girl. View all posts by Odile Milton

Leave a comment