Cardamom, Klee, and Classic Music

paul.kleeThis morning, as I’m preparing to start researches for new feature articles, I can only think about three topics: cardamom, Paul Klee and Classic Music . Why? Let me tell you the story

Last Sunday I’ve been to Parma for an International Fair of Antiques.  An occasion to catch a glimpse of some asian art articles (few unfourtunately), but also to find out about Verdi’s bicentenary.  That’s when I discovered that in Parma there is a Classical Music House dedicated to the teaching of Classic Music, that also hosts festivals and events.  Verdi is one of the most important composers of all times, and knowing that we were born in the same musical Region (Emilia-Romagna) makes me feel proud to be Italian.

 

But as I was listening to the music, I couldn’t help thinking about the description of the scent of cardamom in a book about Middle East that I recently read. Instantly the mind turn back to infancy, where everything seemed bigger, brightly, and more intense. The ultimate source for whatever I write. In my case, I remember long walks in teh mountains, the forests, the fresh air and the sense of Peace that they bring me.

 

Yet there’s another thing that I need to be inspired. Art, non matter in which form. I’m an Asian art lover, but my favourite European painter has always been Paul Klee. In these days an exhibit at Tate Modern show  his works. And when I look at them, I start travelling.

 

That’s an ideal picture for a week full of words to write or read. What about you?

 

 

About Odile Milton

I travel through words whenever possible. Odile Milton is my signature on the web as I wanted an alter ego to indicate only my writings and works, not my personal life. Odile like the dancer in black swan, and Milton from the novel An old-fashioned girl. View all posts by Odile Milton

Leave a Reply

