Meltic Ceramics by LIVIA MARIN. INTERVIEW WITH THE ARTIST

artwork_By_Livia.MarinBy appropriating mass-market objects I seek to offer through the work a reflection on how we particularize our relation to them. I reflect on how, in a secular and materialist society, identities are increasingly designated through the material tokens derived from consumerism (..).” This is part of LIVIA MARIN’S ARTISTIC STATEMENT. I decided to share with all of you our interview, beyond usual conversations on Arts…

 

 

F.M. How would you define your artworks? What do they mean to you and what perspective do you search for?

L.M. Perhaps I could define my work as objects and installations that bring together the intimate though shared life of the everyday with the status of a work of art – a tension perhaps between the ordinary and the extraordinary. This has to do with the aesthetic value lodged not only in ‘art’ but also in the small, sometimes ‘invisible’ aspects of things that shape our lives. In this I hope to bring attention to the way we relate to the material world, to the habits of consumerism and how global markets have an effect on cultures.

 

 

F.M. Which are your main inspiring topics?

L.M. The relation between objects and subjects, the everyday, and various spaces of ambiguity, for example:  where the familiar merges with the unfamiliar, the common with the elite, the masculine with the feminine, what we know with what is difficult to name. Spaces that I believe may open new possibilities of meaning and of making sense of how we engage with objects and things in our lives.

 

 

F.M. How would you introduce your artistic career to younger audiences?

L.M. In the same way, I believe, as I would introduce it to any kind of audience. In general I introduce myself as an artist – sculptor – and my work as an artistic practice that looks into how we relate with material objects in our everyday lives, and, in that, how objects are invested with meaning when they leave behind the market place and their anonymity and enter a lifeworld.

 

 

F.M Which art scene do you think represents a good place to introduce artists like you?

L.M. I don’t know really, so far I have been interested in exploring various types of venues or contexts of the art scene: museums, commercial galleries, art fairs, foundations and more experimental art projects or spaces.

 

F.M. Which kind of message do you hope to transfer to your fans?

L.M. I do not think that art transmits some kind of message; it might allow us to see things or the world around us differently or from a slightly different angle; when a work of art allows or offers that shift of perspective I feel the work works, so to speak.

 

 

F.M. Any upcoming project?

L.M. I am working on some group shows and two solo shows to be exhibited in London, Paris and Santiago de Chile.

 

 

F.M. Finally, any tips for young women artists  willing to follow your steps?

L.M I’m not sure that following my steps would be a good idea! I feel happy and lucky to work as an artist, though at times it can also be very hard. My tips have been: ignore the ‘buts’, work hard and believe in the work.

 

FIND OUT MORE AT www.liviamarin.com

 

 

NOTES: PICTURES PUBLISHED ACCORDING TO THE COURTESY OF LIVIA MARIN

About Odile Milton

I travel through words whenever possible. Odile Milton is my signature on the web as I wanted an alter ego to indicate only my writings and works, not my personal life. Odile like the dancer in black swan, and Milton from the novel An old-fashioned girl. View all posts by Odile Milton

Leave a Reply

