About the Stolen Poems and stories

stolen-writingsHow would a young writer feel if a very close person would try to steal all her/his poems and stories?

I reacted. “Don’t you want to be another Emily Dickinson and lock all your poems and stories?” A local Poet told me one day. I knew my answer would have been NO. And here’s the story. In my case they didn’t dare to publish ’cause the originale writings, copybooks and meaning of it were well hidden. I guess I felt they weren’t good persons. And I was sure that one day I would have taken all the stories back and created something new of them, while the poems will just be recalled (except for the most beautiful, that luckily had already been out). Fragments of old feeling and creative intentions would have later served to make me grow professionally.

 

I decided to publish later two known poems of mine in this blog (GRAPES IN THE MIRROR; PORTRAIT), as well as to recover fragments of a wonderful interview I did with a friend for a cultural association, with who I had curated a photographic online exhibit and gallery. And my old stories gave me lots of new ideas and suggetsion of creative writing that I started developing on the blog They’re like butterflies-phoenix, better than the old ones and sound really like I wanted them to be.

 

Now that many years passed by, I prefer other ways of writing (screenplays, articles, reviews, interviews, long stories). I’ve had amazing experiences related to the writing field, both on the web as well on traditional magazines (mainly in Italy but also on foreign Asian projects). I’ve met so many wonderful artists, People of Culture,  and I publish with SITI-the italian magazine of Unesco. I achieved more than I dreamed, and keep going on with this little “snowdrop garden“. And this is thank to all of my readers.

 

The “AMBER PRINCESS”, “THE GIRL OF THE LIGHTHOUSE”, “THE MAYA’ S ARCHAEOLOGIST”, and many other features writing of my infancy and adolescence are now just memories that showed me how my style came up to light. I’ve been writing since the age of 5. I used to drow as well, and now I have lots of watercolours around the house.

 

I long for time  dedicated only to the pleasure of writing, as the creativity section of the blog shows, to keep exploring new language possibilities and improving in english writing (my mothertongue is italian).But most of all, I long for stories to be shared, both as a journalist (when it’s about culture), as well as a creative writer (when it’s about theatre and long and short stories).

 

I think I’ll attend some schools as soon as possible, to practise more, and one day, perhaps, I’ll teach the techniques that helped me. It would be amazing for me. Where creativity shows up, brilliant things happen  and improve the quality of our lives.

 

And that’s one of my big dreams. For now I’ll take it easy, keeping building a good portfolio and growing professionally with blogging, journalism, web writing, and more.

 

Hope my story will be useful if anybody reading suffered similar events. You’ll get stronger and get to know you better. remember that if somebody tries to steal your works of art, he/she won’t ever be able to steal your inner creativity. So you’ll make out the best of the worst situation and you’ll know how to react with decisionto lies, burglars, and mean People.

About Odile Milton

I travel through words whenever possible. Odile Milton is my signature on the web as I wanted an alter ego to indicate only my writings and works, not my personal life. Odile like the dancer in black swan, and Milton from the novel An old-fashioned girl. View all posts by Odile Milton

Leave a Reply

