Michaela de Prince: a black swan born in Africa

Sometimes we forget how lucky we are, having a house, a family, the right to go to school or to work, to enjoy our lives. Michaela de Prince knows it very well, as she escaped a terryifing life in Sierra Leone when she was very young and then adopted by an american family. She fulfilled in this way her dream of becoming a classical dancer.

Her story was inspiring to me before finding out of her past, I’ve seen her pictures while she’s dancing so I decided to write some lines about her, so incredibly full of passion for arts.

We all be hungry hearts when it comes to Culture and Humanity.

About Odile Milton

I travel through words whenever possible. Odile Milton is my signature on the web as I wanted an alter ego to indicate only my writings and works, not my personal life. Odile like the dancer in black swan, and Milton from the novel An old-fashioned girl. View all posts by Odile Milton

3 responses to “Michaela de Prince: a black swan born in Africa

  • veryproundtobe

    not that i don’t appreciate this kind of successful stories , but what is so special about her talent compared to one born in America?

    black people need to stop dividing and excluding themselves from the rest of the world… she is part of one universe and it shouldn’t make headlines where she was born.. cant we just applaud her without giving her a tittle? ” black “sworn from Africa?”

    my views anyways…, i believe in one world and for us to be included where we come from should matter….

    • F.M

      I thank you for sharing this consideration. It’s important to share different points of view. To me it doesn’t matter where we are born. It’s just that sometimes it’s not a bad idea to remember that not all of us had easy beginnings. That was the simple idea behind this post. I love Africa and I’ve written about its cultures and landscapes. I love as well writing abut Europe, USA or Asia. So to me it wasn’t about a racial question. She has been defined a black swan in a positive way by other journalists, that’s why I decided to keep the definition in the title. To me she’s simply a young beautiful artist who was lucky to fulfill her dream in the States. And after all, positive stories like hers from other girls from all over the World are welcomed. I had written about a little american girl some time ago. But again, thanks for your message. I think it will make me improve as a writer

      • veryproundtobe

        anytime…, and of course i am very much aware that this has nothing to do with race…

        my only concern is we articulate the word one world, so how can we fully achieve that if we still label, ” black this”… ” white this..” that’s all..

        achievements must be measured by ones work not unfortunates incidents and color..

Leave a Reply

